Political Pilot: Paul Riley, Jr.

Image

Who is Paul?

Paul is an ambitious, well-rounded, amiable young man from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania (PA). He’s a junior Politics major at Princeton University and working on a certificate in African American Studies. He hopes to attend law school and eventually become a lawyer and politician. Paul is heavily involved with the Undergraduate Student Government (USG) on campus. He’s a U-Councilor and Projects Board Member of the USG, which is the primary funder of student groups’ events and activities on campus. In addition to that, Paul is also a Residential College Adviser (RCA) in Butler College where he’s responsible for the well-being of many underclassmen.

Life Changing Experience
“Going to a private school and an ivy league university, while also living in Philadelphia, I have been exposed to so many different types of people with so many different worries, struggles, and issues. Being able to navigate these different communities has made me a more self-aware and empathetic person. It has, at times, been tough witnessing two different worlds, but that has only made me want to fight just as hard to ensure that all people regardless of their zip code have access to opportunities and resources, which will ultimately allow them to realize their true potential.”
Image
What impact do you want to leave on the world?
“Growing up, I often stated that I wanted to be the ‘first BLACK president’. As I look back on that moment, I often cringe because with that statement I was limiting myself and my aspirations. Now, I don’t just want to be the first black this or that…instead I want to be the BEST that has ever done it.
I would like your readers to know that I am someone who truly cares about making a difference not only in the world or country, but in my hometown of Philadelphia. Sometimes, we set our sights on global and national issues without even tending to the needs of the people in our own neighborhoods and communities. I want to change that by actually investing time and energy into bettering my community. Just from looking at the issues with school and pension funding, it is evident that new, young leaders are going to have to step up and find solutions to the many things we will inherit as we get older.”
***
Paul’s Favorite Quotes

“‘Whenever you feel like criticizing any one’, he told me, ‘just remember that all the people in this world haven’t had the advantages that you’ve had’.”  – Great Gatsby  –> (I’ve been blessed with such amazing opportunities. Does that make me better than anyone? Definitely not! Instead, I try to live a life that is filled with humility and gratitude, for I have truly been blessed.)

“My mission in life is not merely to survive, but to thrive; and to do so with some passion, some compassion, some humor, and some style.” – Maya Angelou –> (Life is all about having fun and living out your dreams…I love making people laugh and spreading positive energy)

Sidenote: Paul is one of my best friends and an extremely humble guy. He was one of the first friends I made at Princeton and has one of the purest hearts! Paul will talk to anyone and everyone and always finds a way to cheer you up when you’re down. I’m a firm believer that putting good vibes into the world will bring you happiness and blessings, and this guy is the king of good vibes! He is going to go far in life y’all, stay tuned.

PaulRiley#3

Paul’s Social Media Info
Instagram: @political_paul
Twitter: @political_paul
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/paul.riley.junior
Leave a Reply

